Venturing into the new

Hello all,

I wanted to share with you some fun groups that I’ve become a part of on Facebook. I recently joined the group: Cover Me Happy and Tichels, Scarfs and Sheitels Oh My! Buy/Sell/Trade. These groups are fantastic for a number of reasons. The first is that you get some good ol’ camaraderie from around the globe, especially in Cover Me Happy where it is all about the chatter and pictures and tutorials! I learned a new wrap and will post the outcome. In Tichels, Scarfs and Sheitels Oh My! you can sell your items or buy gently used items from others out there for very good prices! Plus, on Wednesdays, the vendors are allowed to post their hearts out. I recently bought from two women and am sporting one purchase today, as you will see below. So, if you are on Facebook, I highly recommend joining these groups. You never know who you’ll meet or what head covering piece will be your next purchase!

Photo on 1-21-15 at 11.47 AM Photo on 1-21-15 at 11.47 AM #2 Photo on 1-21-15 at 11.46 AM Here, I learned the Yerushalmi wrap from co-grouper (is that a word yet? LOL) Meira Schneider-Atik who makes tutorials on youtube. This was my first attempt and I was rather pleased. You can watch her video here.

Photo on 1-29-15 at 12.22 AM #2 Photo on 1-29-15 at 12.22 AM #3

Here is what I am wearing now. As you can see, it is falling off my head after wearing it for more than 12 hours. I feel it stayed on well. I used a mustard circle scarf and made that my base. The problem with using it as the base is lack of tension. I couldn’t get it tight enough to stay well but it never really slid off horribly. On top of that is my new purchase. It is a navy blue with small white polka dots pre-tied. I have never really owned a pre-tied tichel before. I mean, I had one once but it was more of an embellishment, as it was mesh-like/see-through. This is a pre-tied I can wear simply on its own. Anyway, I topped it off with my favorite lace. I should mention that I took the tails of the pre-tied and wrapped it around the bun.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

