Shabbat’s Tichel

DSCF1903 DSCF1904

My new sinar tichel purchased from Sara Attali Designs! Totally LOVE this tichel! It was very comfortable minus the slippage issues. Speaking of slippage issues, I am going to discuss the issues I have no matter what type of “non-slip” product I use.

I began my journey with a cheap strip of muslin from fabric I had laying around. This worked when I wore my scarves down further on my forehead. It was secure but I noticed many women wearing them along their hairline. I liked the look and wanted to try it. So I branched out.

I had old towels I had been planning on using for a different project, so I thought, I could cut a strip to mimick the velvet no-slip headbands that are out there. While they work ok along the hairline, I struggled with slippage. So, I finally broke down. I purchased two velvet headbands made for tichels.

I just got them on Friday just before Shabbat. I was excited to try them, as I had major hopes this would alleviate my problems since I had heard such great reviews about them. Yeah….I struggle more with these headbands than I have ever struggled before. The first night was great, everything felt secure and comfortable; however, every subsequent day since then, it slips within a few hours. I seriously think the biggest problem is how fine my hair is. I have extremely baby fine hair and not much of it. I do find that when I tie my tichel when my hair is still wet from showering that it stays much better than if I tie it on unwashed, dry hair. But then again, that isn’t always the case.

So all this to say that I am still working on finding a solution that is closer to 100% no slippage. Any ideas? Solutions? Please let me know! =]

Check out my Etsy store for tichel embellishments –  http://www.etsy.com/shop/Penimah?ref=seller_info

Check out Sara Attali Designs for beautiful sinar tichels! http://www.etsy.com/shop/SaraAttaliDesign?ref=seller_info

2 thoughts on “Shabbat’s Tichel

    • Hi Sara,
      I apologize for the delay. I got the velvet piece from Sara Attali Designs on etsy.com. I believe you can also purchase her stuff through Leelach.com. Honestly, if you can sew, all you need is maybe a 4-5 inch wide strip of velvet, folded in half lengthwise with velcro on the ends. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

