Today’s Tichel: My First Sinar Tichel Revisited

DSCF1881 DSCF1882

Today I wanted to wear a sinar tichel and also wanted to wear my comfy black courderoy jumper that I usually wear with this particular tichel. I wanted to do something new, so I chose to fold the square part of the apron under and make it one long rectangle. I then used a plain black scarf for the base. I did have to add a bit of fabric to make the bun the right size with this look by taking a strip of fabric, winding it into a circle then placing it around my small ponytail to keep it in place. Then I tied the black scarf right in the middle, having two long tails that I then wrapped around the bun to enlarge it. I felt this looked better since the sinar tichel adds just enough bulk due to the thickness when I made it. To top off the look, I added a piece I made that normally seems to big for me, but worked well with the look!

Want to know how I made it? I had – for whatever reason – saved the fabric for the rose buds from when I had hemmed pants that I had had wayyyy back in high school when I dressed much differently than I do now. I had at that time cut just the hemmed part off the pants – since I am shorter than the average bear – and had kept the strips with the seam still in tact. I then put in a seam to gather the bottom, rolled them into flowers and then made a cute ribbon piece for them to sit which mimick leaves.

Check out my Etsy store for tichel embellishments –  http://www.etsy.com/shop/Penimah?ref=seller_info

Check out Sara Attali Designs for beautiful sinar tichels! http://www.etsy.com/shop/SaraAttaliDesign?ref=seller_info

Leave a Reply

