Today’s Tichel

DSCF1557 DSCF1560

Sequins and Polka Dots!

Today I played with a scarf that is rather wide that has three panels of color: purple, yellow, and red. Since I didn’t want the yellow to show, I had to manipulate all the fabric so the yellow was hidden. It was rather rough, as the yellow was the very middle panel. But I got it! I added my fun polka dot scarf and sequin scarf! I felt like I needed a little jazzing up as I am rather tired. I guess that’s what happens when you stay up later than you ought!

I’m also trying something new. I’m trying a new “no slip” solution. I have been thinking about buying one of those headbands; however, I just haven’t gotten around to it. I had an epiphany last night as I was brainstorming. I have been wanting to make my own with more natural fibers as velvet is synthetic. Velvet is beautiful, but I want my head to breathe as much as it can to quell any issues that could arise. So, I thought that I was going to make a headband with flannel. I have been using a chunk of muslin. There are two problems with that: the knot in the back and I have to have it rest further down on my forehead or it slides. I also wanted to have a number of them so I don’t have to wait for my laundry! I remembered I have old towels that my mom gave me for a different project. I had a strip from that leftover. I didn’t take the time to sew anything yet, but I wrapped tight and pinned it. So far so good! It just feels different, like it is slipping but it really hasn’t done anything. So, I will probably try to make a pattern to use old towels for no-slip headbands and will share it with you as soon as it is tested and deemed fit!

Check out my Etsy store for tichel embellishments! http://www.etsy.com/shop/Penimah

Leave a Reply

